Experiment Failure: Drink Apple Cider Vinegar Daily

I recently have been reading a number of articles about the benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar. The articles claim that this simple ingredient helps with gut health, reduces stomach pH which may inturn reduce heartburn, and a wide variety of other claims including improving the look of your skin. Interest further developed from the memory of a roommate in college who would drink a small amount each morning to help reduce his stomach acid as prescribed my his doctor. Though I didnt take notice of any of his miraculous skin traits, out of sheer curiously, I gave one of the recommendations a try:


The Test: Each morning, consume a bottle of water with 2 TBS of ACV added. Do this for at least a month to have noticeable effects. 

The Result: Well folks, I didn’t even last more than three days. While the taste at first was tart, yet tolerable, by the third day each gulp invoked the same reaction for me as nails on a chalk board. I could barely finish the bottle by the third day and needed to stop.

In terms of effects, I noticed none –other than the fact that I smelled of Vinegar for most of the day. Alass… no gorgeous skin for me. Sigh! 

Where did I go wrong:

Mainly, I bought a liter sized water bottle. My thought was that the more hydration and the more diluted the ACV, the better, right? Wrong! Slowly consuming the acidic liquid just seemed to prolong my poor taste buds exposure to the highly acidic concoction and quickly detected my compliance with the daily regimen. Though I can’t imagine I have the stomach to take a shot of ACV, there must be some secret balance to regular consumption over a prolonged period of time.

My take away from this experience: find a better way to incorporate this into my diet. A member of my family recently told me about a fresh picking technique that doesn’t require boiling the veggies before submerging them in the vinegary brine. I am definitely looking forward to trying that because the sample she brought for us to try was amazingly delicious, tart and crisp. I’ll report back soon. 

In the meantime, do you have any ideas to get ACV into my diet? I would love to hear from you in the comments below. 

Leave a Reply

