Recipe: Ayurvedic Vinaigrette 

At the end of winter, I often feel that I lose a bit of my spark. When is bitterly cold and windy, all I want to do is snuggle inside, watch Netflix. I tend to lose a lot of my momentum on any fitness or health goals. This week with 6 degree weather, my diet has been especially horrible and I’m determined to put myself in a low carb, vegetarian meal plan for the week to clear out all the unhealthy snacks and junk food I’ve been eating.

Despite the chilling winds, I was able to get myself to my local Trader Joe’s to pick up a bunch of veggies to hold me over for the week: baby spinach, carrots, tomatoes, asparagus, mushrooms, lemons and limes, avocado, etc. 

Ayurvedic Vinaigrette to brighten up a 7 day Vegetable Cleanse
Dinner tonight was a simple spinach salad topped with cherry tomatoes, carrots and an Ayurvedic Vinaigrette. The dressing is bright, tart, and great over salads or even roasted vegetable. I made enough of it to store in a jar in my refrigerator to get me through my veggie cleanse week. See my recipe below.

Ayurvedic Vinaigrette

Prep time: 5 minutes 

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/3 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • The juice of one lemon
  • 1 clove garlic (raw crushed or dry powder if fresh garlic is overpowering)
  • 2 Tbs Mustard
  • 1 tsp Black Pepper
  • 2 tsp Turmeric
  • 1 tsp Onion Powder

Put all ingredients into a jar and shake until well mixed or whisk in a bowl. The mustard should emulsify the mixture, but I like to keep mine in a jar in the refrigerator which makes it easy to remix as needed. 

Pour over cold or warm veggies and serve. 

Yogi Tested Original Recipe

Leave a Reply

