New Yoga Teacher: Diversifying the Revenue Stream

But then I wondered….. “ok, now what?” A million ideas and no idea how to truly start any of them. My practical brain always seems to bring my feet rocketing straight back down to the ground whenever my dreamy brain starts to inflate.

As my mother would say, “Its time to get down to brass tacks.”

In early February, my yoga teacher training dedicated the afternoon to discussing yoga business ethics as well as a mini lesson about how to make a living teaching yoga.

“Diversify your revenue stream.”

FINALLY, something I was familiar with from my formal college education. My Capricorn brain started churning with ambitions ideas about all the ways I could use this training:

  • Studio/gym or other facility teaching
  • Studio owner
  • Write a book/article/blog
  • Video blog
  • Social media (Instagram, etc.)
  • Private teaching
  • Yoga retreats/travel
  • Inspirational speaker
  • Virtual online yoga classes via Skype, Webex or other platform
  • Incorporating other services into your offerings yourself or my partnering with another

The list goes on and on.

But then I wondered….. “ok, now what?” A million ideas and no idea how to truly start any of them. My practical brain always seems to bring my feet rocketing straight back down to the ground whenever my dreamy brain starts to inflate.

How do I translate my skills into a functional business that produces income? I think the number one most important thing for me to have before starting a new endeavor is to have realistic awareness.

So I ran though my assets, my desires, the things I would need to make my desires come true (we will call them “needs”) and any known barriers.

Assets:

  • College education
  • Good paying, steady job with amazing benefits
  • Wonderful personal life including handsome husband, adorable dog, and wonderful supportive friends and family
  • Soon to be fully certified 200 hour YTT
  • Car to access more opportunities
  • A weekly volunteer position teaching a community yoga class that I loved

Desires:

  • Teach yoga
  • Make an income (though I knew it would be a while before I broke even on the nearly $4,000 I’d spent in the last year on training, classes and workshops)

Needs:

  •  Experience teaching
  • Explore available opportunities and determines ones I’d need to create
  • Mentor
  • Social media presence (Facebook page, Instagram, Website, etc.)
  • Liability Insurance
  • CPR/AED training

Barriers:

  • Limited weekday day time availability due to regular 9-5 in the city
  • I am still finding my own voice and things that make my practice mine
  • Uncertainly about where to find opportunity
  • Caution on how much more money I want to invest in additional trainings, specialties, etc.

I have a long to do list that I am sure will change with time, but I am willing to risk making some mistakes to hopefully one day appreciate my successes. Wish me luck!

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.
Winston Churchill

via Daily Prompt: Translate

Leave a Reply

