Part I: Hydration Experiment 

Goal: Drink 75 oz of water per day for two weeks and share my challenges, observations and hopefully the success of the experiment. 

I see a lot of articles in magazines, blogs, Pinterest, etc. that state we are not drinking enough water. The amount of water each of the articles claim we should consume seems to very greatly. I always thought the rule was eight 8 oz. glasses of water per day, but some articles claim you should be drinking a gallon per day (that’s a lot of trips to the bathroom). I located a simple calculation that estimated your recommended water intake base on your weight. I opted to use this goal for this experiment since this number fell somewhere in the mid range. 

Rules:

1. Drink 75 ounces of tester per day for two weeks

2. Ounces from caffeinated beverages don’t count towards daily total

3. No fruit juice

I have a small alert set on my iPhone that will go off each hour reminding me to drink at least 8 oz. of water. I have an 8 oz. mug at work so measuring should be easy. I also have my MyFitnessPal app which allows me to tack water consumption in addition to exercise and food intake.

Today is Day two of the two week experiment. I am marching into work with my already half empty water bottle. That right, I’m almost a quarter of the way towards my daily goal and it’s not even 9:00 AM. 

Tonight is my very hot slow flow yoga class, so hydration is key. 

Leave a Reply

