Feeding a Picky Eater: Low-Carb Ginger Shrimp and Sugar Snap Peas

…my husband asked, “Is there anymore?”

As I mentioned before I have been trying to cut carbs but I live with and love a very VERY picky eater, my husband. This makes it a little tricky. 

 His cardinal rule: no sauce…

No sauce?? 

Literally, zero sauce or anything resembling sauce.

Not only is he a very picky eater but he is also the official Carb King of New England. 

He is referring to Dunkin’ Donuts hash browns which are affectionately referred to as “Browns” in our house.
Enough said.

Over the years I’ve gotten pretty savvy in my meal preparation and last night’s quick, easy dinner definitely got rave reviews. The best part was that it was ready to eat in 30 minutes and there was minimal clean up by tossing all the ingredients directly on the baking sheet. 

The ingredients shown below can feed 2 adults but can easily be doubled or tripled depending on the size of your family. You can also add other great roasting veggies to stretch the meal. Some great variations would be to include zucchini, mushrooms or you could even throw everything onto your grill. 

Do what feels good and tastes good. After all it’s Thursday night and if your like me, your exhausted. 

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 8 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 cups Frozen raw shrimp
  • 2-3 cups of fresh (unfrozen) sugar snap peas
  • 1/2 TBS fresh ginger or ginger paste
  • Salt 
  • Pepper 
  • Olive oil

    Steps to prepare:

    1. Thaw shrimp. If you have the time it is easiest to put the bag of frozen shrimp in the fridge in the morning before work (or even the night before) to thaw out. But if you are like me and can barely remember the day of the week sometimes, just thaw the shrimp in a bowl of cool water. It took me only 15 minutes to thaw about 3 cups of frozen shrimp. WARNING: DO NOT MICROWAVE. 
    2. Wash and drain the sugar snap peas and set aside. 
    3. Set the oven to broil. My oven has a high and low broil setting. I opted for the low setting initially and the high setting for the last few minutes of cooking time. 
    4. My shrimp still had the shells so I removed this entirely but you can get yours at the store de-shelled. Remove any excess water by patting dry with a paper towel.
    5. Directly on my bakin sheet, I tossed the shrimp and sugar snap peas in olive oil, ginger paste (or fresh grated ginger), salt and pepper to taste. 
    6. Arrange the shrimp and sugar snap peas in an even layer on the baking sheet. I tend to leave small amount of space between each item so they roast instead of steam. 
    7. Broil the shrimp and snap peas in the oven for about 6 to 8 minutes until the shrimp have turned opaque and pink and the snap peas are just starting to blister. 
    8. Serve and enjoy immediately. 

    And I knew I did good when my husband asked, “Is there anymore?”

    Leave a Reply

    